The church was founded during the 6th century by St. Cattwg's missionary to Gower, St. Cennydd. The present building dates from the 12th century and was given to the Knights of St. John by Robert de la Mare around 1165.

The doorway is probably sixteenth century, and the holy water stoup in the porch is said to have been given by a Spanish sea captain in gratitude to his rescuers.
In the south wall of the chancel is a blocked up leper’s window which can be clearly seen from outside the church. During alterations in 1861 the gallery in the nave was removed and the west end enlarged to accommodate the parish’s growing population. The stained glass windows are by Celtic Studios and Glantawe Studios, two leading Welsh firms of the 20th century. There are other memorials of interest to discover in the church and churchyard.
e.g. In the churchyard, is a memorial to the three lifeboat crew who lost their lives at sea in 1916. The lifeboat station was closed in 1919, when it was consiered too dangerous to be located in Port Eynon. A new lifeboat station was opened in Horton in 1968.
Registers date from 1750.

Open daily from Easter to the end of October.

Grid Reference 467854
Postcode: SA3 1NL

Download “In the steps of the saints”

Contact St Cattwg’s Church Port Eynon

To make a general enquiry about this activity, please complete this form.

  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • Telephone Number
  • Your Message